On el Camino again, I can’t wait to be on el Camino again…

I have a semi-horrible Willy Nelson earworm at the moment, albeit completely understandable.  On Monday morning I leave for Spain, and by next Saturday I will be on my way to Santiago de Compostella.

The Way of St. James – an ancient pilgrimage route in Spain.

It isn’t my first pilgrimage or long-distance walk.  I first walked the Camino Frances (yellow) from St. Jean Pied du Port in southern France to Santiago back in 2003.   That followed on the heels of a long-distance walk from Dublin to the tip of Valentia Island in Ireland about 2 months before, and walking the West Highland Way from Glasgow to Ft. William in Scotland the year before that.  After the Camino, I trekked in the Atlas Mountains of Morocco (climbing Jebel Toubkal) and the Lycian Way along the Turkish coast.  In 2006, I completed the Camino Portugues twice – Porto to Santiago to Finisterre and Tui to Santiago – including the final traditional leg out to the Coast of Death/End of the World where I bathed naked in the sea and emerged reborn.  I have a thing for walking.

On this pilgrimage, I will be walking ~327 miles from Burgos to Santiago along the Camino Frances.  This is the most heavily trekked route, but part of me needs to connect with others.  I am looking forward to the combination of meditative walking during the day and socializing in the evenings.  In between, I’m hoping to squeeze in some writing and planning.  However, my primary focus is on the moment and let that lead me.

I’m making this journey a no-internet and minimal tech trip.  I have my camera, because I love photography, and my cell phone for emergencies.  I don’t expect trouble, but my parents are not in the best of health and my brother lives in tornado alley, aka Oklahoma City.  If something happens, it would be good to know.  So, I won’t be posting until I get back to the US.  Truly, excerpts from my Terran fieldnotes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

